Arduino aquarium dosing pump.

So I'm going to start off by saying this is my first post here. Also id like to say I'm a beginner so this is probably a super simple issue. I have created an aquarium dosing pump powered by Arduino and an android app I made with MIT app inventor. everything has worked great up until I installed everything and filled the container up with Glut (Metricide for Co2) and tested it by pressing the button on the case. everything works great! the pump dosed the correct amount and I was very happy with it. Then I tested the Bluetooth activation of the pump and this is where I'm having issues. The pump didn't shut off and I quickly flipped the power switch off so i'm not sure if it was going to eventually shut off or not. I'm not sure why because in previous tests it always has! I just switched up the Arduino code a bit so I think that's why i'm having troubles. I do not believe it is a problem with the app because it used to work fine. Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a bunch!

//Objective: Dose aquarium with chemicals daily via bluetooth app. with the amount dosed set by potentiometer
//Pin Declerations
const int pumpPin = 10;     //to relay
const int ledpin = 13;      //for test purposes
const int pumpCalPin = A0;  //pin the potentiometer goes to
const int pumpTestPin = 8;  //button to set off pump for calibration purposes
const int buttonPower = 9;  //source of power for the button because I'm out of voltage pins

//Initialize Variables
int dTime = 0;
int mVal = 0;
int val = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(pumpPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buttonPower, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(buttonPower, HIGH);
  pinMode(pumpTestPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(ledpin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(pumpPin, LOW);
  digitalWrite(ledpin, LOW);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  val = Serial.read();
  if (digitalRead(pumpTestPin) == HIGH) {
    pump();
  }
  if (val > 0) {
    serialEvent();
  }
}

void serialEvent() {
  pump();
}

void pump() {