Arduino as a CNC Contoller

Hello, I'm new to the Arduino scene but not new to the CNC scene. I was wondering if anyone here could help me. I came across a topic on another forum site where someone had the idea to take an arduino board and use it to control his cnc machine. Sounds like a great idea, but my question, and later his, can you hook up an SD card reader and have it read a .txt file and execute the commands from that? It could then be a self contained PCB Mill (for my purposes). So I guess the question that I'm asking is, has anyone here successfully made an arduino board read a .txt file from a SD card and get it to executed the commands in that file. If anyone could help me it'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and thanks for all the help in advance.

CoppeRaven

yes it is possible.

You need this:- http://216.38.50.214/playground/Learning/SDMMC

So that enable it to read the SD card then? Can it execute what's in the txt file. I'd have to convert gcode to run arduino commands to get it going though, right?

CoppeRaven

It's a bit unclear to me what you mean by "execute the commands in that file".

If you are talking about taking data from an SD card and writing it to a serial port, that's probably not too hard (the SD card reading is the trick).

If you are talking about making a CNC controller out of an arduino, that's a different animal. Maybe doable, but a whole 'nother level of complexity.

-j