Arduino as a keyboard for reaction time experiments

Hello

I'm trying to develop a device for psychology reaction time experiments. Basicaly, it needs to have a few buttons on it, perhaps a few LED diods, and most importantly - it needs to measure key press and key release events with at least 10ms accuracy, preferably better. It will be used with various software for psychology experiments, by psychologists (so it should be plug and play).

The most similar device I found is this one: http://www.empirisoft.com/DirectIN.aspx It mimics a keyboard, but somehow manages to be more accurate.

I have found a number of project that use arduino as a keyboard, but I haven't seen the data on the accuracy, since they are developed for different purposes.

I'm new to arduino, and electronics in general for that matter. I would appreciate any help.

There is a brief description of DirectIN technology on their forum: http://support.empirisoft.com/showthread.php?p=186#post186

I guess those would be some general guidelines for creating a similar device.

I don't see any issue here, you attach your button to input that support hardware interrupt routine, there are 2 or 6 (depends on board) of them available with arduino library, service time 0.25 microsec. How many buttons do you need?

Your biggest problem may be switch bounce with your keys/buttons. That may take much longer than 10ms to settle. If you go too quick then transients will give you false positives.