Arduino as a TTL Pulse Divider

Hi,

I am very new to the world of Arduino (I have a Mega 2560 and an Uno) and I am planning to start a little project to divide down a 5v/3v TTL pulse (50% duty cycle) twice and output the resampled pulses.

The input pulse will be in the range of 0-100kHz, the first output pulse should be in the range of 0-30kHz and the second output pulse should be in the range of 0-25Hz. I have tested a few ideas such as pulseIn() and Timer1 with a an interrupt, however both methods fail to give me the required speed and accuracy. I have also found a frequency counter library which I am going to investigate but I just wondered if anyone could offer any guidance as to whether Arduino is suitable platform for this project?

whether Arduino is suitable platform for this project?

Vast over kill.
All you need is a 74LS93 chip, that will divide your input by 2, 4, 8 and 16

I intend to build upon and around this basic principle including tasks such as wireless data comms of the pulseCounts/frequency and activating/deactivating items based upon the pulseCount/frequency and other input sensors. Right now though I seem to be struggling to deal with such a high speed pulse on my Arduino so I wanted to make sure that it was feasible and the difficulty was merely down to my lack of knowledge. The chip you mention could be used to reduce the signal at least once before I take it into my board making the frequencies more manageable?

you could use interrupt pins and handle it in the Interrupt routine. check attachinterrupt() for details.

divider by 2 ISR routine - not tested

void isr()
{
  static byte count = 0;  // static vars keep their value over function calls.

if (count == 0) digitalWrite(outpin, HIGH);
  if (count == 1) digitalWrite(outpin, LOW);

count = (count + 1) & 3; // faster way of %4;
}