Arduino as RC PPM Handler

Hi All,

I’m new to Arduino and have been having issues in getting it to do what I would like it to. (Using 0023 and Duemilanove 328)

Here is the break down of what i want it to do;

I want to read a PPM signal from a single channel of a Futaba RX.(right from the signal pin of CH3 Output on the RX)
I then want to output the PPM value (Microseconds) to the Serial Monitor and a servo.

EXAMPLE:http://diydrones.com/profiles/blog/show?id=705844:BlogPost:38418 (tried this and got readings mentioned below)

I’ve tried PulseIn, and the multiple Servo Libraries located on the forum and nothing seems to be working. I’m constantly reading a value between 8000 & 10000 (should be around 1000 to 2000) and all the servo does is jitter. There is no control or relation to my RC TX input what so ever. :disappointed_relieved:

I would really appreciate the help and insight.

Regards,
FlyBoy38L

I've tried PulseIn, and the multiple Servo Libraries located on the forum and nothing seems to be working. I'm constantly reading a value between 8000 & 10000 (should be around 1000 to 2000) and all the servo does is jitter. There is no control or relation to my RC TX input what so ever.

Well, that's obvious from the code you posted.

Or not.

I then want to output the PPM value (Microseconds) to the Serial Monitor and a servo.

Depending on the serial bit-rate and the amount you're sending to the serial monitor, there could be your problem. But we can't see your code, so we're guessing.

Hi,

Thanks for the responses. I appreciate your help and tolerating my beginner questions. This problem seems like it would be common but my searches have yielded no helpful results.

Here is the code:

#include <Servo.h>

// declare variables
unsigned long PPM;
Servo servo1;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);	// opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
        servo1.attach(11);
        servo1.writeMicroseconds(1500); //Center Servo1