Arduino Audiovisual Sync detection

Hello,

I’m completely new to Arduino, and would like to enter this new world.

As a way to learn, and to make something useful for me, I was thinking doing the following project.

Goal:
To measure the sync of projected image and sound of a video. Is the image right in time with the sound or not? (depending on the video player not being able to play in sync, and to compensate any display delay of either image and sound).
Note: I know this kind of device already exist…

How to:
First, a test video needs to be projected. This test video will display both image and sound signal enabling a sync measure. The principle is the simple Bip test: a one white frame is displayed while a bip tone is played, rest of the time dark and silence.

So I need: a microphne that capture the bip sound (that is easy)
A phototransistor (I only need an On/off information, but I need a very fast response, so no LDR it seems) that capture the white frame flashing.

So I guess I could do a Arduino only device, with a display panel for displaying the sync offset in ms, but for a first try I’d like to keep it more simple, and just send audio signals to Max/MSP that will actually do the measurments (it also interrest me to see how Arduino can generate output sounds…). Then if all works and doesn’t seems too complicated, I’ll try the Arduino only route.

So for now, what I basically need is to control a burst of sound (1kHz sine for instance) when the phototransistor receives some light (the white frame). So I guess I might need a way to set a dark threshold and a White threshold for commuting…

Now, a few questions:

What is the best solution for a battery operated Arduino? Would a single 9V battery be enough? or would it be too much voltage dissipated in the 5V regulator? and not enough capacity? What are your tips about it?