Arduino - Awesome Project, Need Help

Okay, here's me... I'm fairly new to Arduino. I've got some motors and sensors to work (not accurate reading, but working). I understand bits and pieces of code. I learn extremely fast if I know what I'm doing.

Here's my goal... My goal is to create a 3D image using Arduino and the open source rendering program called Blender. The first step is getting everything working with Arduino, then using the Blender/Python API to build a 3D image (automatically based upon data from Arduino).

Here's my plan... (Imagine you have an object in front of you) (Now imagine you have a robotic arm controlled with motors using Ardunio). On this arm you have a couple sensors -

1) To measure distance from an object I have close range IR sensors (Infrared Proximity Sensor Short Range - Sharp GP2D120XJ00F -sparkfun). For this example lets tell the IR sensor always to stay 2" and perpendicular from this object at all times.

2) I need a sensor to measure xyz coordinates - that talks to the IR sensor - that calculates the xyz coordinates on different parts of this object.

3) This data has to be recorded and input into Blender using Python

4) As the IR sensor measures distance - and as the 3D sensor measures coordinates based off these distances - I have a camera (CMOS Camera Module - 640x480 - sparkfun) that will take jpeg snapshots of the object as readings are taking place. I then import the jpegs into coordinates within Blender. Blender then takes both the coordinates and jpegs that places them into their corresponding positions.

5) The motors must pan front-back, left-right, always staying perpendicular and 2" away.

This project must be: Automated and done within a decent amount of time

I'm asking for help - If this is possible - Which I highly believe it is (with some hard work). Am I missing anything, and if this was your project, where would you start.

PS. There's more to this project, but I think this is enough for now.