arduino based BMS

hi guys i'm new to arduino programming and really want to build a sort of simplified battery management system that will cut off the charging of the battery once it reaches a set voltage as well as cut off when discharged to a set voltage and i'm really not too sure how to even start. please do advice.

details

mode 1

12v lead acid battery

cut off charging at 12.8/12.9v ( green led light up)

cut off discharge at 10.8-11v (amber led light up)

connection error (red led)

Will that battery be powering the Arduino?

You will need a pair of resistors to make a voltage divider to bring the max voltage below 5v for measurement by an Arduino analog pin.

When my lead-acid battery is charging the charge voltage goes up to about 14.9v. I don't think you can control the charging based on voltage. I normally switch off my engine when the charge current falls below a certain level.

What will you be using to charge your battery?

...R

would it be better to use a seperate battery to power the arduino? as for voltage wise its what is required of from the project im working on as for the charge its a charger meant to charge lead acid batteries and is supposed to cut off on its own but the arduino is meant to be a back up as they chargers sometimes dont cut off even though the voltage is way higher than its supposed to be.

http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/charging_the_lead_acid_battery

hey thanks xD but i know how lead acid batteries work. really just need help with the arduino aspect of it

The Arduino has to control whatever charger you plan to use.

How about giving some hints?

jchow123: cut off charging at 12.8/12.9v ( green led light up)

jchow123: hey thanks xD but i know how lead acid batteries work. really just need help with the arduino aspect of it

Not so easy to reconcile those two statements.

Post a link to the datasheet for the charger you propose to use.

...R

cut off charging at 12.8/12.9v ( green led light up)