Arduino based clamp system

Hi,

My name is Mar and I am a Biomedical Engineering student.

I'm enrolled in a project which consists of a sensor that detects presence of liquid in a tube. When the sensor output is 1 (i.e., there's liquid) I want to send a signal to a clamp (designed or bought) to press the tube in order to stop liquid from passing through.

Does anyone has any suggestions or ideas on how to address this aim?

Thanks in advance!!

Mar.

marmm:
detects presence of liquid in a tube

Have you already sourced the hardware and are looking to put it together and code it up or are you starting from zero?

If from zero, optical detection might work if it is a transparent tube and a nontransparent liquid.
If you have things and are just putting them together, what have you tried?

marmm:
I want to send a signal to a clamp (designed or bought) to press the tube in order to stop liquid from passing through.

If this is a soft flexible tube you should able to squeeze it shut with a servo. Servos come in a wide range of sizes and are very easy to control with the Arduino Servo library.

If you need more help a diagram of your proposed apparatus would be a good idea. See this Simple Image Guide

...R

Hi bigred1212! It is from zero but I already have the sensor system planned, I’m stuck in the second phase wich consist of this clamp system. I really don’t know how I can use the output of the sensor as the input to move the clamps.

bigred1212:
Have you already sourced the hardware and are looking to put it together and code it up or are you starting from zero?

If from zero, optical detection might work if it is a transparent tube and a nontransparent liquid.
If you have things and are just putting them together, what have you tried?