Arduino based class attendance devie

Ok I am a high school instructor and am tired of wasting valuable instruction time on taking roll before every class. What I would like to do is combine an arduino uno r3 wtih a fingerprint scanner and a thermal printer. I would like for this unit to be mounted near the door and as students come in they scan their finger, then 15 minutes into the class the arduino would compare who has scanned in to who is in the class roll and then print a list of students who didn't scan in. Is this feasible, would I have to link the arduino to a pc possibly running excel or access to acomplish this or can it be done as a standalone unit? I have 3 students who have been asking me to get an arduino to experiement with and if this is feasible it would be my 1st arduino project aswell as the students 1st.

we are looking at getting the following printer and scanner

Thanks
Jason

The first question that comes up is if this is allowed to take a persons fingerprint.
Second My experience with fingerprint recognition is that unless you have a small set of people to recognize the fail rate increases quite a bit (disclaimer, no experience with this particular FP scanner).
Have you considered using RFID tags instead?

It is feasible - sounds like the device has numeric codes for each stored fingerprint, so you'll need a way to program in new
fingerprints and record the name (to EEPROM in the Arduino?) - perhaps a separate sketch used at the beginning of term/year?

A RTC module would allow date/time stamps and make the unit standalone for normal operation... Note the PSU will need to supply 1.5A+ to drive that printer, so something like 9V 2A PSU might be best (the printer can take 5 to 9V it claims).

Not a trivial project, but the support at Adafruit will make things a lot easier than otherwise I think.

...and a thermal printer

Why?