Arduino-based, EEG-driven text communicator for quadriplegic patient?

I'm a recent retiree and newb Arduino enthusiast. Tragically, a good friend in otherwise excellent health recently suffered complications from aneurysm surgery and now finds herself completely paralyzed. Only within the past few days has she responded reliably to questions via moving her eyes up and down -- a capability the doctors said her brain injury would make impossible.

Her medical caregivers are intelligent and well-intentioned, but hampered by orthodoxy and limited resources (especially face-to-face patient time). With that in mind, I recently ran across the project described at this link:

Does anyone have any suggestions as to whether a practical communication system might be feasible for my friend by leveraging Arduino, EEG and a simple PC text editor?

Thank you for any leads.

Jeff

Homebrew Do-it-yourself EEG, EKG, and EMG

I don't know anything about the EEG approach and it still sounds like science fiction to me - if there's a working solution already and cheaply available I don't see why you couldn't just take it as-is, but gut feeling is this is unlikely to be something that you could realistically develop for yourself and to me it feels like something that's going to come with a hefty price tag. I've seen Youtube videos of people showing off working prototypes, but that's a big step away from a cheap and reliable solution.

As an alternative you might consider using eye-tracking software. This seems like much easier technology to master and I would be surprised if there wasn't already a working solution available. It would only need a PC with web cam so there's no barrier to tackling the problem, and I expect lots of people have already solved it.