Arduino based MIDI Control Surface

Firstly, I outta state that I'm pretty new to the world of micro controllers and such like, but now that I've had a look around I'm mighty keen to get building. And since my old M-Audio ProjectMix I/O has finally kicked the can, I figured I might try to build some kind of control surface with motorised faders to replace it as there aren't many options on the market at the moment, except for the rather pricy Avid Mix series.

Now I expect this won't be an easy build, but I've spotted a few tutorials around the web suggesting it's certainly possible (http://blog.codyhazelwood.me/midi-control-with-an-arduino-and-a-motorized-fader/ https://motorizedfader.wordpress.com).

Has anyone completed something like this?

Would it be possible to make use of parts like motorised faders from the ProjectMix to build the new control surface?

As for the ProjectMix's condition - the Firewire connection no longer works and the Phantom Power blew a few years back, other than that, it's in great condition.

Firstly, I outta state that I'm pretty new to the world of micro controllers...

Have you done any programming or do you have any electronics experience? This is a big first-project but it's simplifies things a lot if you can re-use the motorized faders and other mechanical parts. And if you have some software & electronics experience it should be manageable.

If you're new to all of this stuff, it's probably going to take you a few months...

Would it be possible to make use of parts like motorised faders from the ProjectMix to build the new control surface?

Probably. But, you'll need to identify the type of motor and it's voltage. I assume it's a DC motor with a worm gear. But, there's a chance it's a stepper motor and even a slight chance it's a servo. If it's only got two wires (or two wires and a ground) it's a DC motor.