Arduino cannot power my relays

Hi all,

I am starting a new project using 2 air solenoids to control pneumatic air cylinders. The solenoids require more voltage than the Arduino can supply so I wll use an external power supply to power them, but the relays I currently have require 5V to activate and the Arduino pins only supply 3.3v.

I found the video Tutorial: How to design a transistor circuit that controls low-power devices - YouTube today that makes me wonder if I can simply use a transistor to switch the solenoids. In fact, the video shows several power switching options, but I’m just a starting hobbyist so not sure what the best option is for my project and I’m starting to get overwhelmed. I know the solenoid requires 12V, but the following other number are also printed on it:

• 12V DC
  • 2.5 VA
  • 200mA

Additionally, the online specs http://www.voguepc.com/upfiles/120513033202.pdf indicate it will operate with +/- 10% of rated voltage and that the power consumption is 3w.

Questions:

1. Am I better of using a relay, NPN transistor or something else, and why?
  2. If the answer is to use the NPN transistor, what size transistors do I require on the switching power and do I need a diode on the collector side to protect against voltage buildup?
  3. If the answer is a relay, do I need to purchase relays that will active from the 3.3v the Ardunio pins will supply, or is there another option to amplify the 3.3v to operate my existing relays?

Thanks,
Kevin

The same basic circuit is used to switch relays, motors or solenoids. Your solenoids do not require much current so just about any small NPN transistor will work, for example 2N3904 or 2N2222. For anything with a coil, you need a diode to protect from “inductive kickback”, which will destroy transistors and indeed, Arduinos.