Arduino capability question

Hi

I'm new to arduino and I've tried out a few tutorials and am slowly getting the hang of it.

I'm trying to build a project and just wanted some advice on where to get started and whether it's even possible. It involves LEDs, timers and buttons.

I want to connect 9 LEDs and 10 buttons to my arduino.

The buttons will be labelled 1 - 8

When button 1 gets pressed, LED 1 turns on.
When button 2 gets pressed, LED 1 and 2 turn on.
When button 3 gets pressed, LED 1, 2 and 3 turn on.
When button 4 gets pressed, LED 1, 2, 3, and 4 turn on.
When button 5 gets pressed, LED 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 turn on.
When button 6 gets pressed, LED 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 turn on.
When button 7 gets pressed, LED 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 turn on.

These LEDs are indicators for number of days.

So, for instance, you press 2.
LED 1 and 2 turn on to indicate selection of 2 days.
After 24 hours, LED 2 will turn off and after a further 24 hours, LED 1 will turn off and LED 8 will then turn on to indicate that the timer has completed it's cycle and 2 days have elapsed.

The remaining button, 8 is used to reset the entire circuit and will light LED 9 to indicate that the circuit has been reset.

Is this at all possible to do?

Please advise, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Certainly it is possible. It's only software!

How accurate does the time have to be? If really accurate, you will need a real time clock board added to your list of stuff.

What about powering the device? If you use batteries, will they last until the times all expire?

You also need 8 220 Ohm resistors to limit current to the LEDs.

Paul

It doesn't need to be that accurate.

Losing a few seconds or even a minute per day isn't a problem.
I'll be powering my circuit with AC adapter.

I was concerned whether the Arduino would have enough pins to connect 19 items (LEDS and buttons)

Thanks for your assistance

pvanniekerk:
It doesn’t need to be that accurate.