Arduino.cc Zero

Been a while since I played w/ a micro-controller and it was an early PIC coded in assembly.

Thought I understood these things … then I bought a Zero … :wink:

Question …

On the Zero’s Schematic the I/O pins are labeled TCC0 W0, W1 etc.

Is the how the device is configured by default, I’m assuming by the bootloader?

Cause it seems that most any I/O type can be multiplexed to any I/O pin.

Also … is anyone aware of a utility to output a list of pins already configured ?

Being a total novice w/ C++ and relying on others example code I’m concerned I might reconfigure an essential I/O and waste years trying to debug a stupid mistake …

THANKS !!

On the Zero's Schematic the I/O pins are labeled TCC0 W0, W1 etc.

Yep, that's what Atmel calls them.

Is the how the device is configured by default, I'm assuming by the bootloader?

Not by the bootloader, but by initialization code called before setup() in the user sketch. The arduino implements a very simplified abstraction of the chip. You have your "digital" pins suitable for pinMode() and digitalWrite() that are configured as GPIO input pins by default, and your "analog" pins that are configured as analog inputs. Some of the timers are configured as well, in order to provide the millis() clock tick, and the possibility of doing PWM output on some of the digital pins as well, but the timers aren't actually connected to the pins until you use an analogWrite() function. There should be a picture somewhere with the board-level pinout described, but I can't seem to find one at the moment.

Cause it seems that most any I/O type can be multiplexed to any I/O pin.

Not really. The SAMDs are a lot less flexibility than you might think.

Being a total novice w/ C++ and relying on others example code I'm concerned I might reconfigure an essential I/O and waste years trying to debug a stupid mistake ..