Arduino + cheap RF module. How to sleep the RF module?

Hello,

I'm fairly new to microcontroller electronics. Currently I'm trying to build a control from motorized shades (sure I could by some but flashing the credit card is only half the fun).

For the wireless transmission my current plan is to use one Ardweeny one each side of the transmission (http://www.makershed.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=MKSB012) and cheap RX modules, such as this RF link kit (http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/315mhz-rf-link-kit-p-76.html). I also found a cheap motor driver and even cheaper geared motors (have I already mentioned the whole thing is supposed to be cheap?) The VirtualWire library should allow me to reliably communicate from the remote control (Arduino-based, too) to the controller.

Now my question is, since the receiving controller is powered by batteries, low power consumption is a prime concern. I'm not too worried about the power consumption while the shades are being lifted and lowered because that only happens twice a day. I read that I can put the ATMega168 into sleep mode where it only consumes 1.5uA or so. I figured I could let the ATMega168 wake up every 2 seconds, check for a wireless signals for a few ms and then go back to sleep. However the RF module that I'm planning to use does not have a sleep mode so even if the ATMega168 sleeps, it would still continue to run and consume power.

My question is, is it feasible to cut off the RF module from power, and power it back up when the microcontroller is awake? And how would I do that (what parts)? The specs of the RF Kit don't mention it's power consumption but I would think that using a digital I/O pin is a bad idea (max. 8/16mA). And the same thing actually goes for the motor driver, too.

Thanks a lot for your input, Christoph