Arduino Chronograph. General guidance with hardware capabilities.

EDIT: Using the Due now. Adding a WeatherShield, accelerometer, magnetometer, thin film thermistor and TFT touchscreen and the software is spinning out of control. yay! Moving targets and design specs should not be the same thing.

I'm a novice in that I haven't done this stuff in 20 years and forgot a lot of it and what I did do was pretty simple stuff. Almost all of it has faded to one degree or another but the theory is still there and I'm still deeply involved in general computing in a professional capacity so I should be a quick study.

EDITED TOPIC

The emitter/sensor pack is going to prove troublesome due to a couple factors. 1, the distance between sensors cannot exceed 2.5" so the detection speed capability of those components will need to be very high. The sensor pack sits in a shaded area of very limited diameter and modest length (1/2" x 5") so interference from ambient sources should be minimal. The sensor/emitter pack also needs to be fairly blast/heat resistant. I have a way of shielding the components directly but the more blast shielding there is the more I have to limit sizes of the detector and emitter elements. They'll need to operate with high precision. The sensors will have about 5us of signal interruption to trip on and the time of flight between sensors could be as small as 5us depending on how far I end up having to space them, I'm trying to put them smack dab next to each other at abou 3/16" sensor-sensor distance. Ideally I'd like to be able to use 3 sensors total so that more complex functions like ballistic coefficient calculations can be done. That also requires either external data input or that I put temperature, pressure and humidity sensors on board and program for those which I don't plan on, so we'll stick with the idea of the 3rd sensor as an option not a requirement.