Arduino CNC PCB Plotter (Need Ideas)

Hi good day everyone, I am a student of Computer Engineering and our project is to make an arduino-based pcb plotter. My concern is, is it possible to use sdcard with G-Code file on it and will be loaded in arduino to perform the operations in the plotter without using a software in the PC or PC? Yes it is a standalone (though I'll be using the PC only for the design that will be converted to G-Code). Because our professor suggested that way and I don't have idea how will I able to make it. Does anyone of you here have ideas or already done my concept. Please I need help, it's our final project for final semester. Your help is greatly appreciated. =( =( Thank you and Godbless! :blush:

is it possible to use sdcard with G-Code file on it and will be loaded in arduino to perform the operations in the plotter without using a software in the PC or PC?

Should be no problem. The drill/mill doesn't care where the data came from.

There are a number of 3D printer controller boards that will work from G-Code stored on a SD card. The most known would be the RAMPS boards (google "SDRAMPS"). Appears that most sellers of the RAMPS boards on eBay don't include the little SD card add on module, but you'll find it if you look for it.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RAMPS-1-4-electronics-SD-RAMPS-and-cables-RepRap-3D-printer-/170913041178

Checkout what GRBL can do

(deleted)

Came across this link pretty quickly. I've played around with a cnc using a pen similar to the link but I used the permanent markers by Sharpie (the same ones that are sold at electronic stores for 3x the price). Had mixed results with the Sharpie but it looks like the pens used by the youtube guy work pretty good.

justone: