Arduino Controlled Automatic Headlights(Programing Noob)

I'm new to programing and was wondering if I could use an Arduino board as a control module. I want to make a module that can turn my trucks headlights on when it senses its dark out. Components that would be used is a photo cell and it would be hard wired into the trucks fuse board. Here's a wiring diagram of an aftermarket module I saw( $135.00! OUCH! smiley-eek)
http://photobucket.com/wiringdiagramexample

Back in the 50's there was a car (I think GM product) that had auto dimming headlights when meeting another car headlights. It wouldn't be good if headlights or overhead street lights turned your headlights off.

I know exactly what your talking about. My moms 65(???) Impala had it and she loved it. Although I'd have to disagree with the street light idea because my 03 Tahoe has it and the sensor is in the center of the dash right by the windshield. I'm completely new to programing and would like to know how to make this work.

The picture is really small so I can't see what's going on there. Just turning on headlights doesn't actually need arduino. You can use a Schmitt trigger to trigger on the voltage on a voltage divider involving the light sensitive resistor and a fixed resistor in series.

Here's something you can read:

Depending on what weather you have in your region, you could probably easily get cheap enough parts for a Schmitt trigger but I'm not sure about arduino's atmega328P chip. I wouldn't leave my arduino in my car in the cold north.

There were probably a proposal to polarize all headlights in the same direction and windshield so to reduce glare from on-coming traffic. The same problem occurs (too dark to see oncoming traffic :))

An arduino can do it but you can do it without an arduino probably cheaper, a photocell and a resitor can form a voltage divider, which along with a potentiometer going to a comparator can form an adjustable light level trigger,