Arduino Controlled Vehicle Authentication/Startup

Good day everyone!
As I am new to Arduino, I have taken the time to read the rules, how-to's and watched a few videos in regard to programming and pin-outs via bread-boarding, but I haven't really found anything as of yet in regard to a project I would like to undertake on a 1994 Mitsubishi 3000GT VR-4.

First off, I will admit that even from the word "Go", I don't even know what model Arduino I would need for this kind of project, but I am very comfortable with soldering, as well as wiring and have a coworker who is decent at learning coding, so I think it's a feasible project with some direction and assistance.

As far as my scope of project:
My end goal is to remove the key cylinder from the steering column and replace the functions of the key with a switch for power (boot up Arduino and other car accessories), which would then provide power to an authentication device (AKA key) whether PIN pad or fingerprint reader, which then allows the Arduino to activate a relay to supply power to the Push-Button Start which will then crank the motor.

The one caveat that comes to mind is if for some reason the authentication device would fail, would there be another way to fail-over to a different device? I would assume that a simple push-button would be able to change the logic in the Arduino to point to a different input for acceptance, but I would think that a third fail safe (hidden physical switch) would also be a good idea. I also have the full electrical service manual from Mitsubishi for all of the circuits.

If I'm not mistaken, the Arduinos are 5VDC powered, so a 12VDC to 5VDC step-down would be needed as well (I assume.)

Based on the high-level scope, is the Arduino the right platform for what I'm looking to do? If so, which model would be my best starting point?

As a reference point, I was kind of looking at a fingerprint reader such as this: