Arduino - Controlling Air Solenoid for Certain RPM & Time

Hello to all the members of the forum reading this topic. Its my first post so I want to introduce myself. I am an automotive engineering student and curently I am working on a project for creating an air driven test equipment. Since its operation is relatevely simple I chose to use the Arduino Uno V3 to automate the task. Unfortunatelly I have limited knowledge and also limited experience programing with the C/C++ languages (Only did some Matlab at school for data processing). This is not a reason to give up though as it is not my first time doing something without any background. :slight_smile:

Basically I want to have a machine where Arduino would control an air solenoid (12V 4.5W through a transistor TIP122 and 1k base resistor) so that an assembly (lets call it a pneumatic motor) is rotated with certain rpm(frequency). The speed will be monitored by a 50%PWM signal (comes from auxiliary equipment)which has the same frequency as the axle rotation. It is desired that:

1. The operator would press a button (momentary switch acts like a trigger for the arduino to start air supply. Switch works with a voltage devider on one of the digital pins as the whole system is 12V)
  2. Arduino opens the solenoid and monitors motor speed.
    3.Once the desired frequency is reached Arduino veries the output to the solenoid ON/OFF for certain time(a few seconds) so that speed is stabilized
    4.After the time ends solenoid is turned off.

In addition the system has an LCD monitor to display the frequency when the mashine is working. This is not too much for now, but the monitor probably will be used with different functionality later on. So far I started writing the code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

//Include LCD RS E DW4 DW5 DW6 DW7
LiquidCrystal lcd (7,8,9,10,11,12);

byte FREQ;

void setup()

{

lcd.begin(16,2);
pinMode(6, INPUT); //AIR SUPPLY TRIGGER SWITCH ON PIN 6