arduino counter

hi im new with arduino and my current project is to light a LED with sound detector. im using a digital sound detector and arduino uno.

this is my code

int sound1=0;
int counter=0;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin (9600);
pinMode(2,INPUT);
pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
sound1=digitalRead(2);
if (sound1==0)
{
Serial.println(“sound detected”);
digitalWrite(3,HIGH);
delay (750);
}
else
{
Serial.println(“no sound detected”);
digitalWrite(3,LOW);
counter = 0;
}
delay(250);
}

but i want the LED to light up after it triggers a 3 “sound detected” notice on serial monitor. like this on on the attachment

can somebody please help me. i think it is a counter but i don’t know how to do that on my code. thanks in advance

An important part of the solution has already been done for you:

counter = 0;

You have to increment this counter when sound is detected. You also have to switch a led depending on the value the variable counter.

yes i think it was the counter++; i tried it for so many times but sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't

negative004: yes i think it was the counter++; i tried it for so many times but sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't

Post what you tried

UKHeliBob: Post what you tried

...in code tags

negative004: yes i think it was the counter++; i tried it for so many times but sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't

Not bad. However, just as important as important as finding the right statement is finding the right place to put it in.

int sound1=0; int counter=0;

void setup() { Serial.begin (9600); pinMode(2,INPUT); pinMode(3,OUTPUT); }

void loop() { sound1=digitalRead(2); if (sound1==0) { Serial.println(counter++); delay(1000);

if (counter==3) { Serial.println(counter++); digitalWrite(3,HIGH); delay (5000); } else { counter++; } } else { Serial.println("no sound detected"); digitalWrite(3,LOW); counter = 0; } }