Arduino crashing/rebooting when i use a serial write command.

I’m having a problem with this custom library that I’ve implemented. This is my first time creating a library so forgive me for the unprofessional way in which it is written.

The purpose of the library is to allow a the main sketch to use a BT master module to establish a serial communication with another arduino with a slave bluetooth device.

Currently the program is restarting every time I use the sendcmd() function of the library to send a command to the BT master module. More specifically, it fails at the “btSerial->write(cmd);” line.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Display_R2.ino (1.38 KB)

btmodule.h (773 Bytes)

btmodule.cpp (3.6 KB)

keywords.txt (112 Bytes)

Does the crash occur the first time you call this, or in a subsequent call?

Has this function ever worked, and if so what was changed between it working and not working?

Have you really proved that the crash occurs at that specific line and not, for example in the subsequent call to errorcheck()? Remember that if the Arduino crashes shortly after a message has been written to the serial port, you may not see the message. If you want to be certain that the message has been transmitted before the sketch does anything else, you could call Serial.flush().

PeterH: Does the crash occur the first time you call this, or in a subsequent call?

Has this function ever worked, and if so what was changed between it working and not working?

Have you really proved that the crash occurs at that specific line and not, for example in the subsequent call to errorcheck()? Remember that if the Arduino crashes shortly after a message has been written to the serial port, you may not see the message. If you want to be certain that the message has been transmitted before the sketch does anything else, you could call Serial.flush().