Arduino Create +MRK1000 +MKR GSM1400 = Can't connect to Wifi or IoT cloud

macOS here.

Lets forget the ridiculous missing port issues regarding Macs and the downloaded Arduino IDE for a minute...

I've now attempted to connect my MKR1000 to the on-line "Create" platform... I can connect the board via a recognised port, but it will not connect to the my network, and therefore cannot reach the IoT cloud.

As a similar but secondary example, my MKR GSM 1400 can't be found at all -> a valid USB port does not appear.

Whats up? anyone else have these problems? Any suggestions?

Also, yes I'm using a proper data cable, proper WIFI name and correct WIFI password.

And both boards have been removed from the electro-static foam, and both board were purchased directly from arduino.cc on-line store.

I'm not an expert.

If the MKR isn't connecting to your network then maybe you need to step back from the cloud for a moment and just focus on getting connected.

Add the the Wifi101 library and try some of the examples. On my MKR1000 there was a bit of faff about having to update the firmware - had to run the firmware check sketch first then the online firmware updater and the firmware updater sketch - sorry can't remember all the details.

Then the simple web server example ran fine and I was able to connect to local network and serve a web page to turn led off and on.

Hopefully if you can get connected then the cloud will work. Good luck.

I very much appreciate your reply.

Unfortunately, I can connect the MRK1000 to the downloaded (1.8.13) IDE but I get the following out and error when trying to upload the Blink sketch...

NOTE: I searched the target directory path and there is no /bin/ in the folder structure. How can this be corrected?