Arduino & DMX

Fella, & ladies,

I am a relative noob to arduino, but am picking up quickly. Can make it drive servos, stuff like that.

project is a wall controller for a DMX lighting system. I have some DMX pack that dim the lights at church, all working fine with
a standard DMX Controller. What i want is to build a wall controller to mount into a regular electrical light switch box, mounted by the door.
The cleaning crew can't get the hang of using the console to turn on the lights, so a Arduino based controller mounted to the back of a wall
plate, with an ALL ON button and an ALL OFF button would be sweet. I can build this using the tinket.it DMXSimple library. Problem is
i really dont want to connect and disconnect the regular console every service.

Is there a way that a arduino can detect an incoming DMX signal, then repeat it down the line, and if no DMX signal detected, than send it's own internal DMX signal down the line? This would allow me to turn off the console after service, and the wall controller would automaticly take over?

Can the arduino handle this? Is it fast enough?

Help?

Thanks
JR

Anybody????

Problem is i really dont want to connect and disconnect the regular console every service.

Why would you need to? As far as I can tell, DMX works over RS-485. That should allow both masters to coexist.

Is there a way that a arduino can detect an incoming DMX signal, then repeat it down the line, and if no DMX signal detected, than send it's own internal DMX signal down the line? This would allow me to turn off the console after service, and the wall controller would automaticly take over?

Your plan is to put an Arduino between the "console" and the lights?

"Why would you need to? As far as I can tell, DMX works over RS-485. That should allow both masters to coexist."

If so, how would the DMX device receiving the dual signals know which one to listen to? I am familiar with DMX to a Point, but unsure how this would work.