Arduino dumilanove cannot read while writing?

i am a student in year 4 study in university. and im trying to use arduino board control a motor to move, but i want the motor to move only when i have received a analog signal.

but here is the problem: arduino cannot write anything while it is reading!?

everytime when i open the SerialPrint window, everything stoped?

it there any method that can get the analog read while the programe is running???

please please help! im failing my subject!

You're also failing to post any code. Over to you.

lk90lbc89: i am a student in year 4 study in university. and im trying to use arduino board control a motor to move, but i want the motor to move only when i have received a analog signal.

but here is the problem: arduino cannot write anything while it is reading!?

everytime when i open the SerialPrint window, everything stoped?

it there any method that can get the analog read while the programe is running????

please please help! im failing my subject!

Every time you open the serial port, the board resets... if you've read anything about Arduino or checked the schematic, you'd know this. It is possible to cut the track that does it, but then it is harder to transfer sketches to the Arduino. Seeedstudio provides a switch so you can do this without damaging the board.

The Serial isn't an analog value. Analog value is something that is read from the analog pins in the Arduino. Is that what you meant? The analogRead() function as far as I know doesn't stop the processing of the program in any perceptible way. Your problem is the auto-reset of the board.

If you post the code, it's simpler to understand what you're talking about.

int analogPin = 3;     // potentiometer wiper (middle terminal) connected to analog pin 3

int val = 0;           // variable to store the value read

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600); //  setup serial
  pinMode(3,OUTPUT);  
}

void loop()
{
  val = analogRead(analogPin);    // read the input pin