Arduino Ethernet Rev3 without POE - SPI Slave

Hey Guys,

This is my first time using arduino so I’ll try to explain things as well as I can. Please feel free to ask me questions.

So I’m to use the following arduino (https://store.arduino.cc/usa/arduino-ethernet-rev3-without-poe) to do the following:

1. I want to have the arduino connected to the PC using the RJ45 connector.
  2. I want to connect the arduino to another device, where the arduino will be the slave and the other device will be the master and I also need the clk speed to be 6 MHz. Since the arduino is 16 MHz I’m hoping that won’t be an issue.

The point of this setup is the following:

I want to be able to send data from the PC to the arduino and then have the arduino pass the data to the master device (the master device would have to constantly be passing data to the slave for the slave to pass anyting to the master). So to do this one of the first things I’ll have to do is have the arduino be the slave and have it receive data from the master and send something back. I was hoping to make the the led blink for the time being.

If you have any advice I would appreciate it. Also, the topic for this form is SPI, etc… So if I’m in the wrong form I apologize.

Regards,

Kev.

Hey,

I was wondering if I could use Ethernet and SPI at the same time with arduino ethernet rev3 without poe.

Kev.

Spend some time studying this page:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/SPI
It does a really good job of explaining things.

You just need to be aware that the Arduino Ethernet uses pin 10 as SS for SPI communication with the W5100 Ethernet controller chip and pin 4 is the SS for the SD card.

AAARGH... cross posting!!!: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=510475

1. I want to connect the arduino to another device, where the arduino will be the slave and the other device will be the master and I also need the clk speed to be 6 MHz. Since the arduino is 16 MHz I'm hoping that won't be an issue.