Arduino Ethernet Shield and SD Reader

Hi Everyone,

My project is coming a long nicely and I received the much anticipated Ethernet shield in the mail last week. I’ve never used an Ethernet shield before and seek your guidance.

My Uno is controlling 4 servos and I intend to use the Ethernet shield to provide information from the SD card to tell each servo to cycle. Now, I have no idea what format to store information on the SD card nor, do I know how to get the Uno to look for it.

The information I intend to store is number sequences of 0001, 0010, 0100, 1000, 0011, etc. There will be thousands of these 4 digit number sequences, many of which will repeat. What format would I used to store this information on the SD card?

In controlling the servo’s, I intend to have the number sequence 0001 to cycle Servo1, sequence 0010 to cycle Servo2 and so on. When there are more than one number 1s in the sequence, I intend to have the Uno operate both Servos at the same time. For example, 0110 would cause Servo2 and Servo3 to cycle, and so on. Again, I have never used the Ethernet shield or an SD card to provide instruction for the Uno and not sure how to add this to my code.

I will include the code I am using so you can get a feel of what I am trying to do.

Thank you

// Four Servo
// Modified by Daniel O'Connor 
// Original code found at <http://barraganstudio.com> written by BARRAGAN

#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo2;  
Servo myservo3;  
Servo myservo4;  
Servo myservo5;  // create servo object to control a servo 

int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position 

void setup() 
{ 
  myservo2.attach(2);  // attaches the servo on pin # to the servo object 
  myservo3.attach(3);
  myservo4.attach(4);
  myservo5.attach(5);
} 

void loop() 
{ 
  for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1)  // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees 
  {                                  // in steps of 1 degree