Arduino for controlling air solenoids

Hello there! I just signed up, hope i’ll have a good time here :slight_smile:

Im just a starter in arduino and just know how to make and LED blink and pretty basic stuff… also, i’m a beginner in electronics in general(not that I’m an idiot at that, lets just say that)
Anyways… I need an Arduino to control an “air valve block” (not the one in the picture but basically yhe same principle). I would use it on a car, to control the air suspension thats currently on it. So the arduino should read 4 sensors (one on each wheel, also pictured) that would tell it which solenoid to open, and when to close it. Also, it would need to have a feature where it automatically opens all the valves at once, to either inflate or deflate the four airbags.

I hope that someone can help me out with this, at least with a list of components to use…
Bare in mind that I know there are ready available parts that do exactly that, but I like to experiment, and also i know that someone already built one of those but he doesn’t seem to be online anymore, or doesn’t want to be disturbed anyways…

Thank you very much, and sorry if I misspelled something, im from Croatia. :slight_smile:

Start to studie the ready built hight/air level sensors. Don't even dream about creating Your own sensors. They will not survive any other climate than inside a garage.

Yeah… 4 inputs & 4 outputs should be "easy’.

Do you have any technical information about the sensors? Are they just switches, or maybe they have a potentiometer?

If the sensors are connected to the 12V system, you’ll need a voltage divider (2-resistors) and/or a resistor-diode over-voltage circuit for each sensor because the Arduino runs at 5V.

And the valves probably aren’t simply on/off, right? I’m guessing there are 3-states… Inflate, deflate, hold? That would require 8 outputs.

[u]Here is a MOSFET driver circuit[/u] for a motor or solenoid.