Arduino freezing issues related to motor driver

Hello. I am a beginner that discovered Arduino only last month when I was researching how to control my 12v DC water pump at various speeds depending on temperature. I have spent several hours each day learning and I have spent about $200 in components to make this happen. I have:

• Arduino Uno Rev. 3 (Genuine)
  • 20A 10-60V motor controller (Amazon)(Modified on the 555 timer output to accept Arduino PWM)
  • 12V 1A hobby motor (just for testing)( 1A Schottky diode across the terminals)
  • 10K ohm NTC temp. sensor (-40C - 150C) -12V simple ON/OFF switch -DROK DC-DC voltage convertor stabilizer (Amazon)
  • Oled 32 x 128 I2C led screen

I have wired everything on a breadboard on the bench for testing. I have written the sketch by reading and modifying pre existing codes and adding parts through my own learning. Everything runs well for hours on end as long as the motor controller is not powered and the motor is not running. However once I power the motor controller and allow the motor to run through PWM it runs and does control the motor speed depending on temperature. However, randomly the system locks up the screen will stop reporting and just stays on. The serial monitor stops reporting. The motor will keep running regardless of temperature and the only way is to unplug the power and restart. The motor controller is powered directly from a 12v DC battery and is connected to the motor. The Arduino is powered through the Buck convertor which is powered by the same 12V DC battery and supplies a regulated 9V to the Arduino. I can post my wiring diagram and my Arduino sketch if needed. I need help making this system reliable. I would appreciate any help or directions to achieve my goal. I thank everyone who reads my post and apologize if I have made any rookie mistakes in my posting.

@intercooler

Your topic was Moved to it's current location / section as it is more suitable.