Arduino Frequency Meter

Hello all, I’m new to Arduino and was making a frequency counter using pulseIn function. The problem i’m facing is that the output values are very absurd…such as 66334, 883339,12, 34 etc and not the actual frequency. I’m using 1Khz square wave from 555 (shows perfect on CRO). Below is the code: Please help me out:

int in_pin=2;
float t_high;
float t_low;
float t_total;
float freq;
void setup()
{
pinMode(in_pin,INPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
t_low=pulseInLong(in_pin,HIGH);
t_high=pulseInLong(in_pin,LOW);
t_total=t_high + t_low;
freq= 1000000.0/t_total;
Serial.println(freq);
}

Where is 'pulseInLong" defined?

Edit: well, that’s a new one on me.

Sorry.

Possibly I'm misreading it, but the documentation for pulseInLong says:

Reads a pulse (either HIGH or LOW) on a pin. For example, if value is HIGH, pulseInLong() waits for the pin to go from LOW to HIGH, starts timing, then waits for the pin to go LOW and stops timing

In other words, it is edge-triggered. Hence:

t_low=pulseInLong(in_pin,HIGH);
  t_high=pulseInLong(in_pin,LOW);

the first call to pulseInLong() should return after the HIGH->LOW edge has been detected.

However, the next call is going to be looking for the same edge in order to start timing, i.e. it is looking for the pin going from HIGH to LOW. But that edge already occurred, because we used it to trigger the return from the previous pulseInLong call. So I think you end up capturing the "high" part of one waveform, and the "low" part of the following one.

So that seems like a potential problem with the approach, although it doesn't explain why you're getting totally bonkers values out. Have you tried just logging the t_high and t_low values to see whether they make any sense?

I've heard of time drifting ... but not floating

dlloyd:
I've heard of time drifting ... but not floating

Yeah, I wondered about that too. I assume the idea is to use a better type for the division that comes later.