Arduino + GA628 Text LCD

Hello,

I just received my Arduino Duemilanove, and while I’m waiting for the components I need to build a high power H-Bridge (got a robot project in the works…), I thought I could play with some junk I have…

I have an old Ericsson GA628 phone and it happens to have a nice tiny text based LCD.

Now, my question is (I’m a total newbie so bear with me): is there an easy way to connect this LCD to my Arduino? Any hints? :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Seb

Here's the LCD's pinout:

http://www.module.ro/ericsson_lcd.html

And here a guy's project with it:

http://www.circuitdb.com/circuits/id/141

C'mon... is it really so hard to answer and help me? :)

Any hint would be more than welcome!

Thanks...

S.

I don't see anywhere in that "project" link that there was an Arduino involved. You have a link to the pinout for the LCD. Hook it up following the pinout, and see what happens.

I never said that guy's project was arduino based, but I posted it because I thought it might help someone with more knowledge help me out. I guess there ARE similarities when connecting an LCD to any microcontroller, right? :)

As for connecting the LCD according to the pinout...

pin1 Vlcd (+5.6V) pin2 Gnd pin3 Vlogic (+2.8V) pin4 Vlogic (POR) pin5 Sdata (i2c) pin6 Sclk (i2c)

Ok, pin1 can probably go to the 2009's +5V (I suppose it's enough), pin2 ground, got it... now, problems start with the other pins... I guess pin3 should be a digital pin, but they're 5V, so I'd need to regulate it somehow. As for the i2c pins, I have no clue what to do...

So, that's where I am right now, anyone helping me move at least a step forward will earn my eternal gratitude :)

Cheers,

S.

You'll need a voltage divider between the Arduino pin and pin 3:

Arduino pin ---- --/\/\/\/-- + --/\/\/\/-- --> gnd | pin 3 4.7K resistors on each side will give 2.5V to pin 3, which should be enough.