Arduino GPS speed pulse generator for digital speedometer

Hello, I'm new to Arduino but I've already picked first project (learning by need) :)

I have motorcycle digital speedometer that is driven by hall sensor connected to the wheel (1 pulse per wheel revolution). I was thinking of replacing hall sensor with signal from GPS driven Arduino. Unfortunately I'm not sure how that signal is generated (don't have oscilloscope to check). I assume this is simple signal.

I would appreciate beginners help explanations (I'm quite familiar with general electronics and c# but new to Arduino)

Based on my research I think I'll be able to pull GPS values for speed however how to convert that into signal that I can connect to speedometer is a mystery a bit. I would appreciate any help even guiding for documentation for this project

Thank you

I assume this is simple signal.

You have the GPS. It has a data sheet. There is no reason to assume anything.

Based on my research I think I’ll be able to pull GPS values for speed

If you don’t even know what kind of signal it is, I’m not sure how you reached this conclusion.

On the other hand, most GPSs output serial data, where the current position is a string. Knowing where you are, and where you were, and the difference in time between there and here, you can compute the change in location and the speed.

however how to convert that into signal that I can connect to speedometer is a mystery a bit.

Without knowing anything about your speedometer, yes, it is.

I was thinking of replacing hall sensor

Why? That system will work anywhere, at any speed (though I suspect that your assumption of one pulse per revolution is wrong). A GPS works only outdoors, and only gives reasonable results when you are moving fairly quickly.

Hi PaulS, Thank you for your fast reply.

I was able to get speed reading from GPS shield in km/h. I have this value in integer but need to get proper signal out that connects to my speedometer.