Arduino Guitar Tuner Hack

Hi -

Over the weekend I hacked a Korg GA-30 guitar tuner. I soldered breadboard wires to the LCD inputs and have been messing around with trying to get the Arduino to use the combined inputs to identify what note is playing. I am pretty new to Arduino and I wanted to see if this could yield some interesting experiments.

Suggestions are welcome! P

Fail.

The only data coming out of the chip on the tuner was to switch various portions of the LCD. As such, one would have to decode based on the LED shapes to get notes, probably very slowly, and it still doesn’t solve the problem of octaves.
The chip on the tuner is very much integral to the board- it is a strange little black circle.

I would say for anyone thinking they could benefit from hacking a guitar tuner to get pitch detection to the arduino- forget it.

you can try to build your own arduino guitar tuner

you can try to build your own arduino guitar tuner

Probably would be easier than trying to hack one already built :p

Would be a neat little project. Hook some servos up to the tuning knobs, play a string, and it tunes it for ya! ;D

yeah, that's a great idea!

fast.. furry... transformers..right?

The problem of trying to hack this is that the waveform used to drive an LCD is not a simple two logic level signal. It has a several of different voltage levels, the actual number depends on the type of LCD it is using. While this can be done, and it would not be slow, you need a decent oscilloscope to look at your waveforms and decode them. Only then can you think about the interface that would include voltage comparators to convert the multilevel signal into on that the arduino can read.

Thanks! That is really interesting. If the range of the tuner covers many octaves, do you think there would be a way to identify which octave was playing? The LCD screen does not make this distinction, but I know the tuner chip has this capability.

Thanks Peter