Arduino IDE 0012 Alpha questions (newbie)

Hi,

I’m new to this, so forgive me if I’ve missed something obvious. I did check the FAQ and google a bit, but no luck.
I have 2 questions…

1. Is there any way to change the font in the IDE on Windows? I looked in the preferences file, and tried changing Monospaced to Courier New, but it didn’t make any difference…
    Why? Because a lowercase L is EXACTLY the same a digit 1! Insane!
    Especially as L has been my favourite loop variable for years!

2. Are there any bitwise operators? Like an AND or OR. I was messing about and made my board count in binary on 8 LEDs, and found the lack of an AND and the lack of a power function a complete nightmare!
    I don’t come from a C programming background, I’m a Delphi (Pascal programmer), so might just not know the notation in C. I did look in the language docs, but didn’t find either.

Ta in advance,

Steve.

Bitwise AND in C is “&”, bitwise OR is “|”, bitwise XOR is “^” (caution: “^” is NOT exponentiation!!!)

(the similar logical operators are “&&” and “||”)

if ( (UARTSTATUS & TXEMPTY) && tty->outcount > 0) {
  // send data to the uart
}

Ahhh… That’s better… Thought having no bitwise operators would be a bit of a crazy thing to leave out!

Now if only I could change that font!

Here’s what I came up with for my binary counter, any comments?

void setup()                    // run once, when the sketch starts
{
  for (int i=1; i <= 8; i++){
  pinMode(i, OUTPUT);      // sets the digital pin as output
  digitalWrite(i,LOW);
  }
}

void loop()                     // run over and over again
{
  for (int i=0; i<=255; i++){
    int mask=1;
    for (int bit=1; bit<=8; bit++){
      if ((i&mask)!=0) digitalWrite(bit,HIGH);
      else digitalWrite(bit,LOW);
      mask=mask*2;
    }
    delay(200);
  }
}

Welcome to the world of Arduino and C.