Arduino IDE Questions

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the Arduino IDE, and I have a few general questions. For the record, I am using it on OSX.

1. Is the IDE itself customizable in terms of appearance? I like to code on a black background for instance. I know about the config file but couldn't find any appearance sections (though I might have missed them). I'm also considering using an external editor, I like the "integrated" part of an IDE though.

2. Is there any way to get an "open windows" menu item? I tend to keep a lot of files open and switching between them isn't easy.

3. Sometimes I find that I need to modify a library for a custom purpose. If I copy the library and modify it, then sometimes the compiler chooses the wrong library at compile time. What is the best recommended practice for dealing with this? I have tried a few things but haven't found a great solution yet.

Thank you!

Josh

1. You can set the colors and fonts at {Arduino IDE installation folder}/lib/theme/theme.txt and {Arduino IDE installation folder}/lib/theme/syntax/default.xml

2. You should always put your modified libraries in the {sketchbook location}/libraries folder. Make sure that the library folder name is the same as the include file name(for example, if you are adding the line #include <Ethernet.h> to your code to include the library then the folder name should be Ethernet). Make sure the architectures field in library.properties explicitly matches the architectures it is compatible with instead of using a wildcard. If you do those three things that library should always take include priority over any other library.

Hi there,

I apologize for the delay, for some reason I didn't get a notification you'd replied!