Arduino IDE to Arduino Pro communications

I am totally new to the Arduino IDE / Arduino. I can not seem to get my communications set up properly.

My board is an Arduino PRO.

I have two different USBASP programmers. One generic and one V2.0 LC Technology. The drivers are libusbK USB Devices / USBasp

I also have a FTDI Programmer. The driver is FTDI 8/16/2017 2..12.28.0 on COM6

When I try to communicate using the FTDI programmer I have used the Serial Monitor on COM6 to run the Loop Back Test This works fine. I am able to send and receive characters. For this I am setup as follows: Board: "Arduino Pro or Pro Mini" Processor: "ATmega 328 (5V, 16Mhz)" Port: "COM 6" Programmer: "USBasp"

When I try to "Upload Using Programmer" I receive "Not able to upload I am using the simple "Blink" sketch and it does compile properly. IDE also reports "Could not find USB device with vid=0x16c0 pid= 0x5dc product = USBasp

When I try to run a loopback test using either of the USBASP devices it does not work. IDE reports "Board is not available" Port option is grayed out. I also can not upload using either of these.

I would ultimately like to use either of the USBASP devices to upload. I don't seem to be able to get the right setup options to use any of these?

Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Loopback test is only for use on a serial port so that's not relevant to the USBasp.

The USBasp doesn't create a COM port so the Tools > Port menu being grayed out is the expected behavior.

The problem you do need to focus on is this: "Could not find USB device with vid=0x16c0 pid= 0x5dc product = USBasp".

Thanks, I did not know that the Loop Test was not for the USBASP devices. The fact that it did work on the FTDI Programmer made me think that I should have been able to program with it??

I had come to the conclusion that the USBASP did not create a COM port.