Arduino in one port and Processing out the other port

Hi,
I'm new in Arduino and all things electrical so excuse my lack of knowledge and ways to express myself.
I have a project where I am controlling the brightness of a light through Processing (reading a csv file). That goes out one port.
On the other hand, and port, I have an arduino attached with a light sensor and an SD card so that it can record the light it is receiving. This is recording the light being manipulated through Processing. Hence both ports being used.
My problem is that as soon as I turn the Processing sketch to start manipulating the light, the SD card on the arduino stops recording.
I have tried taking the light recorder off the laptop and plugged in through a converter but the light readings are erratic, often spiking. So I am left having to plug them both in to my laptop.
Is there any way round this?
thanks

Would you show the code or prefer to fix it telepathically?

The Arduino may be reset whenever its USB port is opened or closed. Check your board for an jumper, that allows to disable that function. After such a modification you may have to press the reset button, whenever you want to upload a sketch.

My apologies. I didn’t think it was a coding problem and hence I did not post it.

Arduino code:

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_Sensor.h>
#include <Adafruit_TSL2561_U.h>
#include <DS3231.h> //RTC library
#define SD_CS_PIN SS
#include <SPI.h>
#include <SdFat.h>

int LED = 13;

SdFat SD;
File myFile;
DS3231  rtc(SDA, SCL);
const int chipSelect = 8;

Adafruit_TSL2561_Unified tsl = Adafruit_TSL2561_Unified(TSL2561_ADDR_FLOAT, 12345);

void displaySensorDetails(void)
{
  sensor_t sensor;
  tsl.getSensor(&sensor);
  Serial.println("------------------------------------");
  Serial.print  ("Sensor:       "); Serial.println(sensor.name);
  Serial.print  ("Driver Ver:   "); Serial.println(sensor.version);
  Serial.print  ("Unique ID:    "); Serial.println(sensor.sensor_id);