Arduino in the Classroom: Getting Started

I teach computer classes for junior/senior high school students (ages 13-18). I have a background in programming (degree in Computer Science, mostly Perl experience), but no exposure to hardware. I have used Lego Mindstorms, but that's about the extent of it.

I'm interested in using the Arduino in my classroom. I'm completely new at this and a bit bewildered by it all, so I have a few questions:

• Besides the Arduino itself, what would I have to buy to do a decent variety of useful and interesting things? I know the answer is "it depends", but some examples would be helpful.

• I'm on a public school budget, so I'm pretty price-sensitive. I may not want the very cheapest board, though. What should I be looking for?

• What skills would I need to pick up in order to use the Arduino effectively? I can program and I'm not afraid of learning a new language, but I've never touched a soldering iron. Would I need to get a deep background in electrical engineering before I try anything?

• How sturdy is the Arduino? Will putting a wire in the wrong place make it burst into flames? Can I break it (or brick it) with bad code?

• Realistically, is this something I could put in front of a 14-year-old whose only computer experience is playing World of Warcraft and typing papers in Microsoft Word?

what would I have to buy to do a decent variety of useful and interesting things

A fist full of LED, some switches and buttons and a motor or two, maybe a stepping motor. You can also do a lot of stuff with conducting foam and conducting plastic used as packing material industrial electronics.

I'm on a public school budget,