Arduino in vehicle to control Lighting circuits.

Hey guys I am really new to arduino and I don't know where to start. Hoping to get some guidance on the project.

Let me explain what I need and want the device to do. I retrofitted a pair of headlights for my car, that have leds and color changing halos etc... Instead of having to run 3-4 switches into my vehicles cabin, I figured hey, maybe there is a way I could just control it all with an android device. What I have done is fiber glassed a smaller tablet into my dash that I use for all my gauges. I'd like to have an app that has virtual buttons that I can press to turn on a certain light.

So I am assuming I will need an arduino of some sort and a 12v relay board? Or can the arduino handle switching led halos? Another question is, If I use bluethooth will I have to connect to the bluethooth every time I start my vehicle or will it stay connected? What arduino board do you recommend? Is this something that is not worth doing?

It should be doable. I believe once a bluetooth device is paired it stays paired. You need Mosfets or transistors to drive the lights the arduino drives those devices directly ( a base resistor is needed if driving transistors).

They are only 12v leds single color, no color changing leds. The halos themselves, already have the transistors or whatever hooked up to them so just sending 12vs to them makes them work. I'm just unsure if a normal arduino can switch 12volts or if I'd have to connect the arduino to a relay board.

Yes, you need a relay board (or transistor or MOSFET, etc.). As you probably know, a relay is an electrically controlled switch.... You are replacing a switch with a switch, so t that's the "safest" solution.

But if there is no controller with unknown electronics and you just have to switch 12V power, a MOSFET is pretty "safe" too. (MOSFETs tend to make better power-switches than transistors, so let's forget about transistors.)