Arduino IR switch

Hi, I am new to the arduino and in need of some advice/help.

My project is that i have a 10" tablet running Linux Ubuntu that will be mounted on my wall. Id like to have something where i wave in front of the screen and it turns the screen on, taking away the need of using the button on the top of the tablet so i am able to hide it (the button).

I have seen people's youtube videos where they have created a circuit where when they wave over the IR Receiver and emitter an LED flashes on. Is there some way of making it so it turns the screen on and then turns it off when i wave over it again?

Thanks

Jake

One possibilty:

Use an arduino with a bluetooth module and proximity sensor (IR or ultrasound).
Then have the Arduino paired with the tablet over bluetooth.
You will also need to develop some application on the tablet or find an existing app that can be used.

A simple way to achieve that (for an Android tablet) without having to write a custom app for the tablet can be devices like bluetooth remotes:
search for "bluetooth remote android" on your favourite auction site!
You just need to tap into the switch on the remote => easy :slight_smile:

Of course it would be much easier to just use the bluetooth remote on its own, which would save you having to wave your hand and would work from anywhere in the room :slight_smile:

I am not sure if these devices support UBUNTU, but worth a search!
I am pretty sure you could use, re-purpose or hack a bluetooth keyboad or mouse to achieve the same thing on UBUNTU.

Hi AnalysIR

Thanks for the reply. The reason i need to be able to wave over the front is because im going to have the tablet mounted in a frame and mounted on the wall.