Arduino ISP -> ATtiny85 -> Serial not defined in scope error.

Thanks for any assistance. I am attempting to run the example code for Arduino ISP. I am using an ATtiny Shield to program an ATtiny85 chip. I’ve used this before without issues, however, since upgrading to IDE 1.8.4, I seem to be having trouble. I’ve searched through the forums and online resources, but cannot seem to find a definitive answer to how to resolve this problem. Considering this is an example code, I assume that I’ve done something wrong, but for the life of me I can’t tell what it is. I am new to all of this and my minimal coding expertise is more along the lines of actionscript 2.0 and HTML. And TBH, trying to read these error codes has caused my brain to go infocatatonic. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Platform: Arduino Uno

Arduino IDE: 1.8.4

Sketch: Example “ArduinoISP”.

Error: See attachment (MS Word .doc). Code exceeded maximum posting length.

Purpose: Program an ATtiny85 chip.

I hope I have followed the proper etiquette with this post. Please inform me if I should post differently. Thanks.

Serial Error ArduinoISP Sketch2.doc (101 KB)

Error messages should be posted inline using code tags. Do NOT post as a Word document.

You need to post the program you are trying to upload to the Attiny85. If it is too long then post the .ino file as an attachment. Please don't post Word documents as they contain formatting that will confuse the compiler.

Your Title suggests to me that you are trying to upload a program that refers to Serial and AFAIK the Attiny85 does not support Serial.

...R

Just posting the orange errors will probably reduce the size significantly. And using a text file instead of a doc will give you a bigger audience.

Ok. Taking into account the recommendations I have saved the errors in a text file with Notebook. The error text exceeded the allowed 9000 characters, hence why I saved as an external file rather than a code snippet.