Arduino keyboard emulator is adding data to stream

All,

I’m pretty new to programming an arduino, but have general experience programming.

I’m trying to pass a series of keys via the Arduino Pro Micro.

I used a usb monitoring application to see the difference between the raw data streams, since it wasn’t working with my application.

For example, when I press the scroll lock key, the Dell keyboard registers “00 00 47 00 00 00 00 00”
But when I press the scroll key on the Arduino, it registers “02 00 00 47 00 00 00 00 00”

Is there any way to remove the “02” at the beginning, or just send the raw data stream manually?

Thanks in advance.
Jeff

Sketch_v1.ino (518 Bytes)

Arduino.txt (2.68 KB)

Dell Keyboard.txt (5.63 KB)

Very Short answer: it should not matter to your HID driver and it’s going to be a challenge to modify because that’s the specification…

**Theoretical answer:**you activate your arduino through USB as a Human Interface Device (HID). HID is an abstraction layer above the USB communication protocol to send different type of structured data in a very generic and flexible way. To keep it simple, what is sent on the USB bus when an HID device wants to send information is called a Report, defined in a report descriptor (specific to your device).

if you can have different types of Reports from a single endpoint, for example your arduino can send both mouse events and keyboard events over the same USB physical connexion, the specification mentions that a Report ID item has to be added in the communication to indicate which data fields are represented in each report structure. This Report ID is a 1-byte identification prefix to each report transfer.