Arduino Keypad 4x4 - Need basic script

I am new to the Arduino, computer programming, and electrical engineering. I wanted to plug a 4 column x 4 row keypad into my Arduino digital pins 0 to 7 and get output into the Arduino software serial monitor. I have tried a couple of the scripts from the Arduino playground (arduino.cc/playground/Code/Keypad) but the serial monitor starts going bizerk and typing random numbers and letters. I don't care really what each key outputs, 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 would be ideal, left to right. I have a standard 4x4 8 pin keyboard.

Pin 1 + Pin 8 = 1 Pin 2 + Pin 8 = 2 Pin 3 + Pin 8 = 3 Pin 4 + Pin 8 = 4 Pin 1 + Pin 7 = 5 Pin 2 + Pin 7 = 6 Pin 3 + Pin 7 = 7 Pin 4 + Pin 7 = 8 Pin 1 + Pin 6 = 9 Pin 2 + Pin 6 = 10 Pin 3 + Pin 6 = 11 Pin 4 + Pin 6 = 12 Pin 1 + Pin 5 = 13 Pin 2 + Pin 5 = 14 Pin 3 + Pin 5 = 15 Pin 4 + Pin 5 = 16

Example, when you push down key 1 (top left of keypad), it connects Pin 1 and Pin 8 which should let Arduino software type "1" in the serial monitor.

Hope someone can post the code I can upload to my Arduino.

First things first. To be able to use the serial monitor in the Arduion IDE then the serial data utilizes pins 0 and 1 on the Arduino, so you will have to choose pins other then those two.

Lefty

Ok I guess i'll do pins 6-13

Still don't know the programming though :(

The best plan is to make an attempt to get it working then post a description of what works and what doesn’t with the source code. I suspect someone will be willing to lend a helping hand.

• Brian

Well I used this code found here http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/Keypad#Example

/*
||
|| @file HelloKeypad.pde
|| @version 1.0
|| @author Alexander Brevig
|| @contact alexanderbrevig@gmail.com
||
|| @description
|| | Display the intuitive way of using a keypad when using this HAL
|| #
||
|| @license
|| | Copyright (c) 2009 Alexander Brevig. All rights reserved.
|| | This code is subject to AlphaLicence.txt