Arduino lighting for stage performance

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to all this, so please excuse my naivety. I'm a solo acoustic singer/songwriter and play a very dynamic style. I have a big gig coming up and bought the equipment to build a sound-responsive stage.

I aim to take an aux out from the mixing desk to the arduino uno and use that, in conjunction with the MSGEQ7 (and TLC5940 maybe?) to create shadow play from light boxes on the stage. I've been researching LED spectrum analysers, light organs etc., but nobody seems to have tried to use this setup for stage design. I don't simply want flashing lights to the beat, but ideally would have about 16 LEDs dotted about the stage in light boxes to move with the frequencies and amplitudes of the performance.

Could you point me in the right direction, suggest links to similar projects or just tell me this is too ambitious? I'd really appreciate the help.

Thanks

I think you can do this! I've built two "big" DJ lighting effects.

Use your imagination & creativity and program-in some randomness & variability to keep things interesting. Any single effect can get boring after a minute or two. Just for example, maybe make the red LED respond to the bass for awhile, then make the green LED respond to the bass. Or, use RGB LEDs an change the colors around.

I'm not sure if "standard" LEDs will be bright enough when "dotted around the stage". One of my projects is an 8-foot "VU Meter" and standard "high brightness" LEDs are bright enough with 24 LEDs in a row.

I've never used the MSGEQ7, but it's a good-easy way to get the frequency & volume information into the Arduino.

I haven't used the TLC5940 either, but I've used a similar Maxim chip. The advantage of these serially controlled chips is that you can daisychain them to drive almost as many LEDs as you wish with only 3 control lines. (I have six 8-channel LED drivers for 24 LEDs on each left & right meter.)