Arduino Mega, Accelstepper & 28BYJ48 issue

Hi everyone. I’m new to the Arduino (but have programmed lots before) and I have an issue that I can’t seem to fix. I think the answer’s obvious, but I’m not seeing it! The documentation for the Accelstepper.h library isn’t helping me.

I’m using a standard Radio Control transmitter wired to the Arduino. The X/Y positions of one of the sticks are being read by the Arduino and needs to control a stepper motor.

The stepper motor starts at position 0. (Stick X=0, Y=lots, angle = 0). I can get the stepper to track clockwise or anticlockwise to follow the angle of the stick, no problem. The stepper moves from -2048 steps (-180 degrees) to +2048 steps (+180 degrees).

If I move the stick beyond these end points (Stick X=0, Y=-lots) I want the stepper to follow. At the moment, it takes “the long way around”. Which isn’t the result I’m after.

To calculate the “shortest direction” I’m using the following code:

if(buttonState==1){
    // read stick x and y positions
    int xValue = 510 - analogRead(A4);
    int yValue = analogRead(A5) - 513;
    // value in radians
    float stickAngle = atan2(xValue, yValue);
    // value in step units
    float stickTarget = stickAngle*2048/3.14159;
    // calculate best direction to turn
    float stepperCurrentPosition = stepper2.currentPosition();
    float difference = stepperCurrentPosition - stickTarget;
    if(difference<-2048){
      difference = difference + 4096;
    }
    if(difference>2048){
      difference = difference - 4096;
    }
    if(difference<0){
      // needs to move clockwise
      stepper2.moveTo(stickTarget);
    }else{
      // needs to move anticlockwise
    }
    stepper2.run();
  } else {
    stepper2.moveTo(0);
    stepper2.run();
  }

The question:

What commands do I need to use to ensure the step movement to stickTarget is clockwise or anticlockwise?

Many thanks for any help with this!

Andy