Arduino Mega ADK and WiFi

Hi there,

i'm new to the arduino-subjects but would like to ask three question, i'd bet you can easily help me :slight_smile:

I'd like to communicate with an Android-Device and an mega ADK board.
I'm not sure if (for example) the following would work as described as a plug-n-play-solution:
http://www.asynclabs.com/store?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=26&category_id=6&vmcchk=1

The next question is if i can use any android-devices for communcating via WiFi with the board? Or do i need specific devices?

Finally....
how does the WiFi-connection work? I mean,... do i have to get both - board and device - into the same Wifi-Network or is there an possibility to let them communicate via an ad-hoc-wifi or any other kind of peer-to-peer-network?

Hope you don't labeled me as an idiot, like i said above i'm new in this subject :slight_smile:

Best Regards,
Julian

In my limited research:

I don't know about the WiShield, but the the WiFly shield supports ad-hoc networking. See this post:
http://forum.sparkfun.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=28581&p=128588&hilit=wifly+adhoc#p128588''

You can get both devices (Arduino and 'droid) on the same wifi network, or you can use AdHoc mode on the Arduino and connect directly do that from the 'droid. In essence, it's the same thing - both devices are on the same wifi network.

As for the Android devices, it depends on how you want to communicate. If you're going to use an app, the device will need to be able to run it. If you're going to use something like an HTML page delivered by the Arduino, then any 'droid should manage.

Well, first of all thx for your reply :slight_smile:

As for the Android devices, it depends on how you want to communicate. If you're going to use an app, the device will need to be able to run it. If you're going to use something like an HTML page delivered by the Arduino, then any 'droid should manage.