Arduino Mega + Ethernet shield crashing

Hi,

I’m very new to Arduino so please be understanding if I’ve made some schoolboy errors in my code! I have written a small program to receive a UDP data stream from X-Plane flight simulator, extract some data and then display it on a 6 digit 7-segment LED display using a MAX7219 driver.

It kind of works, but crashes. Here’s the code - please excuse the commented out junk:

#include <LedControl.h>
#include <SPI.h>         
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include <EthernetUdp.h>

//Let's create our program variables

unsigned long LEDdelaytime=500;                            //---- Delay for LED init sequence
byte mac[] = { 
  0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };       //---- MAC Address assigned to Arduino Ethernet Shield
IPAddress ip (192, 168, 120, 49);                          //---- Set IP address for Ethernet shield (any free addr in your local network)
IPAddress ipx (192, 168, 120, 50);                         //---- IP address of the computer with X-Plane installed

unsigned int localPort = 49000;                            //---- Port to listen for UDP packets from X-plane (default)
unsigned int  XP_port = 49001;                             //---- Port to send UDP packets
byte DATA_buf[512];                                        //---- UDP.read buffer (large enough to store all incoming data of one packet)
int packetSize;                                            // size of received packet

/*
Use a union to move data between float and bytes types.
 To move a float to byte - bf.floatvalue = 4500; byte1 = bf.bytevalue[1]; and so on
 */

union {                                    
  char bytevalue[4];                        
  float floatvalue;
  int intvalue;
}  
bf;

//---- Let's set some variables for various XP functions here

int Gear = 2;           //Contact gear_lever (on/off) on Pin 2 Arduino (if using only one input for Gear Up/Dn)
int Com1A;              //Com1 Active Frequency