Arduino Mega, Write to display to on contact closure

Hi everyone. I previously posted regarding writing to an LCD display upon a button being pushed (contact closure).

Circuit would operate as follows : Multiple normally open buttons hooked up to analog inputs. When a single button is pushed(closing the circuit) It shall display something like "Input # is closed". When button is released, LCD display shall read either no text or something generic such as "No buttons Activated".

*Also a simple 7 segment display to show which input is being closed(button being pushed) would work as well.

I guess my question is this...I am very new to this. I have a background in programming and electronics but not much knowledge of programming hardware. That being said, I have searched high and low for a step by step tutorial on how to create this circuit including programming and I had no such luck. I saw alot of inquiries regarding similar projects but no solid help or tutorials.

I was wondering if someone could take the time and put together a tutorial for this. Detailed and showing both how its wired, and the code portion. Using either LCD or 7 segment display or both. I know this is alot to ask of someone but it would be a huge help to me and I think other people as well. Plus seeing how its put together and programmed will be a huge learning opportunity for my. So if anyone is willing please let me know, or if anyone knows of a tutorial thats already out there.

Thanks for your time guys. Keith

I saw alot of inquiries regarding similar projects but no solid help or tutorials.

Is that because your whole class is asking the same question because they have been given the same assignment?

What you are asking for is trivial, it involves reading the input from a push button. So look at the example in the IDE File -> Examples -> 01Basics -> DigitalReadSerial and get it working with the serial monitor.