Arduino memory architecture

Hi
I am a CS student, learning computer architecture and assembly language. I’m using the arduino microcomputer to practice and learn more about how data is stored in memory.
The arduino microcomputer (at least the arduino UNO) has 3 memory spaces: Program Memory (flash), data memory(register/RAM) and configuration memory(EEPROM). Anyway, I bumped into a strange behavior while saving and trying to retrieve data stored in Program memory. Here is a simplified version of the code I was practicing with:

#include <pgmspace.h>

PROGMEM char array1[] = {"Array 1"};

void setup() {
	Serial.begin(9600);

// proper way to retrieve data from program memory. This works just fine!, printing "Array 1"
	char c;
	for(char* ptr = array1 ; (c = pgm_read_byte(ptr)) != NULL ; ptr++)
		Serial.print(c);

Serial.println();

// the code bellow should not work since a pointer should only allow me to access data memory
        // and array1 in stored in program memory. But it works to some extent!! (I explain bellow!)
	int k = 0;
	for(char* ptr = array1; k < 3; ptr++,k++)
		Serial.print((char)*ptr);
} 

void loop() {
}

I don’t know how, but the second for-loop will work for up to the first 3 bytes in my array1 array. The second for-loop will actually print “Arr”, but as soon as I try to print the fourth byte in my array1 (that would be the character ‘a’ in this case) the code doesn’t print “Arr” or “Arra” instead it prints all garbage data, which I kind of expect.

array1 is supposed to be located in program memory only, and the proper way to retrieve data from program memory is to use functions from pgmspace.h, like I did in the first for-loop.

My question is why/how is the code on the second for-loop able to retrieve the first 3 bytes (“Arr”) while using a “data-pointer”.

I hope I was not too confusing with my question but I figure I may be able to get an answer if I asked here.

Thank You!!!